Karl Wunderlich

As a sculptor Karl Wunderlich explores the potentials and inherent aesthetic capabilities of metal. The subtle precious pieces he produces are for the most part wearable whilst also being miniature art objects.

His works enter into a special interplay with the human body and invite and initiate an intimate reception and inspection.

With a lightness of touch and apparent ease he challenges the viewer’s expectations through an amalgamation of the traditions of jewellery, sculpture and colour. Wunderlich’s fascination for and exploration of the almost forgotten legacy of renaissance metalwork and of Japanese metalworking techniques inform this distinctive approach.

Between 2000 and 2005 Karl Wunderlich studied Fine Arts (Sculpture and Metalwork) at the Weißensee Academy of Art Berlin and the Royal Academy of Fine Arts Antwerp. In 2011 he was awarded second prize for his piece “Madame du Barry”in the Berlin Chamber of Crafts Awards.

He lives and works in Berlin.

Karl Wunderlich

Karl Wunderlich ist Bildhauer, der die ästhetischen Möglichkeiten und das Potential des Materials Metall erforscht. Seine meist tragbaren Pretiosen sind raffinierte Schaustücke und Kunstobjekte en miniature.
Die Objekte gehen eine Verbindung mit dem Körper ein und fordern eine intime Betrachtung und Rezeption des Gegenstandes. Das Begreifen mit den Fingern und die Allansichtigkeit der Arbeiten gehören zum Erleben der Skulptur.

Mit scheinbarer Schwerelosigkeit werden die Erwartungen des Betrachters durch die Vermischung von Traditionen von Schmuck, Skulptur und deren farbiger Fassung herausgefordert. Dafür hat sich Wunderlich das fast in Vergessenheit geratene vielseitige künstlerische Vermächtnis der Metallbearbeitung der Renaissance wie auch japanische Traditionen zu Eigen gemacht.

Karl Wunderlich hat zwischen 2000 und 2005 Freie Kunst - Bildhauerei und Metallkunst an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee und an der Königlichen Akademie für Schöne Künste Antwerpen studiert. 2011 hat er den 2. Landespreis für Gestaltendes Handwerk Berlin für Madame du Barry erhalten.

Er lebt als freischaffender Künstler in Berlin.